The Chinese Body Clock

Have you ever woken up in the middle of the night wondering why? I know I have. This actually happened to me last night.

As I was enjoying a deep slumber I was awakened around 3 am. I was up for one full hour! I usually don’t have issues sleeping at night however since I am fasting I thought to investigate this a little more. As I layed there twiddling my thumbs;) I asked myself what might be going on? And Voila, the answer came!!

A small amount of pain was present in my left lung. I have learned that in Traditional Chinese Medicine each hour is associated with a different organ. The lungs are associated with 3am-5am. And since I am fasting I was able to put two and two together! The lungs while fasting will work scavenging for scar tissue and work on healing at this time of night. The main reason for sleep is so the body can repair and restore itself. In this case it seems that my lungs were doing some deep cleaning;)

Thankfully I thought to give myself Reiki. Reiki is the universal life energy that flows through us. My Reiki attunements have given me the ability to harness that energy and give my body and other people & pets a treatment when required. I simply put my hand on that lung which had minor pain and it went away within minutes.

Traditonal Chinese Medicine reveals alot about our organs and their cycles. If you often find yourself up at night this might be a great clue to start cleaning house! If the body is not able get deep sleep it has a challenge repairing.

Connecting with our Organs.

As you see here in the chart the early hours of the morning are all about the stomach and intestines. This is why it is such a great idea to keep it light in the morning. Beginning your day with some clean water and lemon or perhaps a fresh pressed green juice. At this time the body is assimilating nutrients from yesterday’s meals. If the body is getting a bunch more food on top of that it will take away from the uptake of its work. When we keep it light we often find we have much more energy. The bowels will move in the morning if we drink plenty of fluids and flush out the system.

When our last meal is 3 or even 4 hours before bed we can get much better sleep. Having a bit of hunger in the stomach as you retire for the evening can be a very good thing. Try this instead of eating before bed and see the difference.

Another insight I have gathered through my research is that if you find yourself awaking alot between the hours of 1am-3am you might consider doing a liver/gallbladder flush. Please see my posts on an optimal flush and give your liver a chance to heal and restore.

Enjoy the chart and share any insights you might have!

Giving thanks!

Categories: Chi Energy, Cleansing, Detoxifying, Fasting | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

